Tags

, , , , , , , ,

…”when the dog bites
When the bee stings
When I’m feeling sad
I simply remember my favorite things
And then I don’t feel so baaaad!”

I couldn’t resist…at least you’re not really hearing me sing.  Just imagine that I sing like an angel.  Heh.

I promised you the second half of our dinner at El Arenal and one of my favorite Spanish fish entrées!

(if you missed it, part 1 is here)

Lubina A La Sal.

Lubina is basically a European sea bass and “A La Sal” is when the fish is baked whole encased in a salt crust as you see above.

The presentation is part of the fun.  The fish is brought table side and given a good thwack to break the hardened crust, then the salt shell is opened to expose the whole fish for deboning and filleting, to then be portioned out accordingly.

This is an ancient technique that cooks the fish perfectly throughout, yet keeping the delicate flesh moist and juicy.  Then if it’s expertly filleted, you are served the tender meat, not the salted skin.

El Arenal, as well as most Spanish restaurants, accompanies the fish with a side of vegetables and potatoes.  As you can see, the highlight is, appropriately, the beautiful Lubina.

Most Spanish restaurants serve fresh whole fish cooked “A La Sal”.  A basic gauge is to order around 1 pound of fish per person if eaten as a main course.

It’s succulent, healthy and absolutely divine!

