Tags

, , , , , ,

Wednesday morning I woke up to this…

All of this for me??  It must be a special day!

Yes, it was my birthday and bf knows the way to my heart is, literally, through my stomach.  Melty cheese, something spicy AND flowers makes for one super morning.

We spent a quiet evening at home due to the fact that he is still recovering from his surgery (if you’re lost, you can catch up here).

I was longing for a juicy piece of beef with these simple sides, so bf made me this perfect dinner.  Boneless rib eye with caramelized onions, sautéed spinach and brown rice.

I haven’t had a steak since leaving Spain.  Since I eat so much meat there, I usually lose the urge for it when we first return to San Francisco…but it’s been long enough, so bring on the beef!  We decanted one of my favorite California wines and all my cravings were fulfilled.

San Francisco surprised me with a truly stunning sunset.  I took this photo around 7:30pm.  The sky kept evolving with the most dramatic shades of pinks, oranges and purples.  It was a magical display.

I am so fortunate to be able to dine frequently at delicious restaurants all over the world, but, tonight, no restaurant could have done a better job.  It was a cozy evening marking another year in my life.

