Tags

, , , ,

I’ve had avocados on my mind and let me say that I really, really like avocados.  I thought I had never met an avocado I didn’t fancy.  Until recently.

While I’m in Marbella, I’m fortunate to have a local farmer’s market and they have a plethora of wonderful produce at super prices.  Everything is fresh, straight from the source and delicious.

 With one exception…avocados.

They look beautiful, but there is…no…taste.  No flavor, nada, none!  At first I thought it was a one-off, but unfortunately, it was the same with the second and third I tried…and then I gave up.  Now avocados have been added to my list of “things I look forward to devouring eating when in San Francisco”.

Which leads me to the wonderful Hass avocado.  Did you know that about 80% of all avocados consumed worldwide are of the Hass variety?  Due to its rich, creamy and nutty flavor, I can understand why.  So why can I not find one of these darlings in Spain?  Sigh.  I guess I’ll try again when I return.

Be sure to mark your calendars as September 16 is National Guacamole Day!  I’ve marked mine and I’ll be ready to do my part in celebrating this…um…momentous holiday.

Meanwhile, here’s a wee Sunday visual for you – my turkey, greens & cheese sandwich with slices of ripe, delicious Hass avocado.  YUM!

